6 replies to this topic

#1 DirtyDog

DirtyDog

Captain Leisure

• Site Team
  • 3,157 posts
  • LocationEugene, Oregon

Posted 10 November 2007 - 12:14 AM

I want to create a database of campers and gear that is inline with the WTW site niche - lightweight, off-road worthy gear. I was thinking that the categories would mirror the classified categories.

I am looking for general input on that and I had one important thing I was hoping we could all discuss:

What makes a lightweight camper? What should the maximum weight be on a camper considered light weight?

#2 NJTaco

NJTaco

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 10 November 2007 - 09:56 PM

I am looking for general input on that and I had one important thing I was hoping we could all discuss:

What makes a lightweight camper? What should the maximum weight be on a camper considered light weight?

I'm no expert, but IMHO, a lightweight camper could be pegged to half the load capacity of the intended vehicle. For example, if my Tacoma has a load cap of 1500#, the camper (empty) should weigh no more than 750#. Same for trailers...I "can" tow up to 3500#, but my empty trailer weight should be no more than 1750#.

This way my Tacoma has the remaining 750# for people and stuff, but an F350 as a larger truck has a half ton or more excess capacity to go with the extra room the larger truck allows.

A modification of this guideline might be to allow for weight of expected occupants (like 350# for a two-seat truck) before halving the load capacity. That doesn't work so well for the smaller trucks, though. A camper for my Tacoma would max at 575#...simply not practical, IMO. A 60% rule of thumb may work better.

Good idea for discussion...

On edit: