4 replies to this topic

#1 Dogman Ventura

Dogman Ventura

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 March 2014 - 04:00 PM

Hi, I am a newbie here.

I currently have a Northstar popup with an extended cabover on a 4WD F150 truck. I have had it about 10 years. I am getting tired of the wind noise and lack of insulation with the soft sidewalls of the pop up, so I am considering an Alaskan 8 ft. cabover.

The dry weights are probably within 200 lbs of one another. I have read in threads that a lot of you folks don't recommend a 1/2 ton truck, but seems I would be okay based on what I am currently running??  I have helper springs that do a nice job with the load (used to have airbags, but the holes for them led to a cracked my truck frame - no more airbags for me!!). With my Northstar, the truck handles pretty dang good on curvy mountain roads.

I saw the Bryan Wheat video demonstrating putting the Alaskan top up and down. My biggest concern are the cabover walls in a rainstorm. It looks like the bed would get soaked if you were doing a setup or takedown in a hard driving rain. Am I correct in interpretting what I saw in the video? If so, what do owners do about that.

Other than that, it looks like a pretty sweet rig!

If anyone owns one in the Santa Barbara or Ventura areas and would like to demo it for me, I would love to see one in person.

Thanks

Harley

Northstar Laredo SC

Chevy 3500 diesel 4x4

Labrador Retriever copilot

#2 Ripperj

Ripperj

• Members
  • 239 posts

Posted 06 March 2014 - 10:46 PM