• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 WanderingBadger

WanderingBadger

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 March 2014 - 01:43 AM

Hey everyone! :) I've been looking into either getting a camper for my truck or selling it and getting a camper van of some sort for quite awhile, but lately I've been trying to get more serious. One of my friends who lives some distance away said she found a camper van that I might like, and I wanted to get some opinions on whether or not I should try to look into it more. It's a 1983 VW Campervan going for $3750, has 178k miles (which makes me think it might be on it's way out) but the owners of course say it runs great, and everything inside of the van functions perfectly fine. Admittedly I'm a newbie at all of this, so what do you think? Should I look into this a bit deeper, or be on my way and look elsewhere?

Here are some photos that my friend took: http://imgur.com/a/AwVoT

Thanks for any help in advance :)

Edited by WanderingBadger, 11 March 2014 - 04:49 AM.

#2 Espresso

Espresso

• Members
  • 282 posts
  • LocationSF Bay Area

Posted 11 March 2014 - 03:46 AM

A few random thoughts:

• Worst car I ever owned was a 1980 VW Rabbit.  Piece of junk from bumper to bumper.  
  • The 80's were generally a low point in automotive history.  
  • 180K miles isn't that much on a modern vehicle, but it is a fair amount on a 30 year old car.  
  • I've heard the VW's built in Germany were better than those built in the US.  
  • The VW vans weren't the safest rigs on the road.  No air bags and nothing but sheet metal between your knees and whatever you run into.
  • Much of the value of a VW camper van is the body, pop-top if it has one, appliances, etc.
  • I like the idea of being able to get out of bed, have breakfast, and drive away, all without leaving the vehicle.  

#3 Lighthawk

Lighthawk

Weekend warrior

• Members
  • 3,320 posts
  • LocationNevada City, CA

Posted 11 March 2014 - 04:22 AM