nico

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts
  • LocationSan Luis Obispo , ca

Posted 07 January 2021 - 10:02 PM

HI,

I am a newbie to start. I am zeroing in on a purchase for a four wheel camper this year. I have a dodge ram 2500 diesel tquad cab longbed that will double as a work truck and my families recreational vehicle. I currently have the stock bed on it but I am looking into options for a flatbed. I will likely go with either a hawk or grandby flatbed model and leaning towards the grandby flatbed model(wife, 2 kids, dog). The norweld beds are too far out of my price range... I have been puzzled by all the different options for the flatbed and the prices seem to be all over the place. I am really looking for a thread/resource where people talk about their same experience in buying/fabricating a flatbed(tried to find through search functions but was unable). The first thought/question I have is steel vs aluminum. I know this subject has been beat to heck and back but my welding buddy says we should build a custom bed out of thing gauge steel. He claims the weight of this proposed bed with not be significantly different than the aluminum beds and will offer the ability to easily customize the bed in the future. I am planning on going with a wood deck to cut down on weight and cost. I have read a few others have ordered flatbeds from companies online for under 3k and I am curios of the quality and the availability of those.