43 replies to this topic

#1 ski3pin

ski3pin

Belay On

• Site Team
  • 15,353 posts
  • LocationSierra Nevada Range

Posted 15 November 2023 - 06:56 PM

I'm curious as to who here on WTW uses Gaia GPS and what mobile devices you are using it on while traveling. Are you pleased with how it is working for you?

2003 Ford Ranger FX4 Level II 2013 ATC Bobcat SE "And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years."- Abraham Lincoln  http://ski3pin.blogspot.com/

#2 Vic Harder

Vic Harder

Doctor Electric

• Site Team
  • 4,979 posts
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted 15 November 2023 - 10:10 PM

I use Gaia GPS.  iPhone and iPad.  Create routes on my Windows 10 PC.

#3 Scott81621

Scott81621

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • LocationColorado

Posted 16 November 2023 - 01:03 AM

I have been using for the last 10 years and it is fabulous!  Both on my Iphone and Ipad.

#4 rubberlegs

rubberlegs

curmudgeon

• Members
  • 564 posts
  • LocationEverett, WA

Posted 16 November 2023 - 03:33 AM

I used to use Gaia on a phone and computer which was very handy in the field. A few years ago we switched to CalTopo, because at that time it’s interface was simpler on the computer for planning at home, and worked fine on a phone in the field. Maybe Gaia has improved since then. They are close competitors from what I gather. Gaia could load a rectangular area on a phone back then, but CalTopo was based on USGS quads, so Gaia was slightly easier for loading maps on the phone.

Tacoma/Fleet 2018.

#5 buckland

buckland

• Members
  • 3,082 posts
  • LocationNew England

Posted 16 November 2023 - 12:39 PM

We have used Gaia Premium and the detail is excellent. We use on iPad and iPhone. For out of cell area we have a very small GPS unit in truck that works great with the downloaded maps.

2016 Duramax 2.8 Diesel long bed Colorado 4WD with 2011 Eagle

Lordwoodcraft  instagram        Rob